Taking Stock and Gearing Up: Immigration Policy and the Role of Philanthropy in Building Stronger Communities

Webinar
Date: 
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Time: 
1 - 2 pm PDT | 2 - 3 pm MDT | 3 - 4 pm CDT | 4 - 5 pm EDT

Description

    Don’t miss GCIR’s first post-summer Monthly Immigration Policy Call, during which we will take stock of key immigration-related developments and explore questions that funders should be considering right now and in the year ahead. An extraordinary number of major immigration policy battles are underway in the courts and beyond. Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals remains in legal limbo. Dozens of parents and children forcibly separated at the border have yet to be reunited. Refugee admissions are at historic lows. And a new set of ‘public charge’ policies barring immigrants who have received basic government support from permanent residency is expected any day. While federal policy wins remain elusive, gains at the state and local level hold promise for advancing equity, improving public safety, promoting greater social cohesion, and providing a blueprint for longer-term movement building.
     
    During this informative one-hour call, speakers will:

    • Discuss the topmost federal policy threats and potential implications for immigrant families and communities across the country;
    • Reflect on the remarkably broad set of pro-immigrant victories at the state and local levels over the past two years—and what lessons they hold for future efforts; and
    • Explore what funders can do to support immigrants and refugees, while building strong communities for all.

    Speakers

    Moderator

    Registration

    Please register by COB Wednesday, September 19th.

    Calls are open to GCIR members, other grantmaking institutions, philanthropic advisors, and members and staff of philanthropic support organizations. (Participation is limited to organizations that share GCIR’s core values.)

    Monthly Immigration Policy Calls

    Held on the third Thursday of each month, GCIR's monthly policy calls provide an update on timely policy issues affecting immigrants and refugees—with an in-depth look at a topic that is particularly relevant or pressing for philanthropy. At critical junctures, we will also produce written policy updates and resource materials to deepen funders’ understanding of key developments and their implications for philanthropy. Please contact Felecia Bartow, senior advisor, with your suggestions on topics, speakers, and resources to share. 

    Co-sponsors

     

    A special thanks to GCIR members and funders for their support in making this program possible.

    PhotoLudovic Bertron/Creative Commons