What is Climate's Impact on Migration? A Look Beyond the Headlines

Webinar
Date: 
Wednesday, August 9, 2017
Time: 
12:00 p.m. PDT | 1:00 p.m. MDT | 2:00 p.m. CDT | 3:00 p.m. EDT


A dry river bed in the Kakadu National Park in Australia. [PhotoGlobal Landscapes Forum / Creative Commons]

Co-Sponsors

Description

The terms ‘climate migration’ and ‘climate refugee’ are increasingly seen across headlines. Less clear is how, why, and to what extent the impacts of climate change actually drive migration and influence the experience of migrants and refugees. Scholars, scientists, and policymakers are working to disentangle the primary climate impacts, such as rising air temperatures and sea-levels, from the secondary climate impacts, including drought and agricultural pests, and traditional drivers of migration and displacement. In all corners of the world, environmental factors are found to drive or augment the dynamics of migration and immobility, such as internal migration in the Mekong Delta, displacement in Syria, immigration from Pacific Rim island states, relocation of remote Arctic communities, and seasonal migration patterns across North and Central America. Policymakers at the international stage are working with increasing urgency to address the growing risks and impacts of climate change on migrants and refugees who lack legal protection for climate-induced scenarios. While at the domestic and local-level, policymakers are just beginning to take notice of how climate change will cause substantial human displacement over the coming decades.  

This call will explore the climate science and policy issues impacting migration, displacement, and relocation both domestically and internationally; address opportunities to support climate migrants and refugees, while also working to mitigate and adapt to climate change; and explore funder approaches to synthesizing services for immigrants and refugees with efforts to mitigate and adapt to climate change.

Speakers

Registration

Registration is now closed.

Resources

 

A special thanks to GCIR members and funders for their support in making this program possible.