Family Separation Policies and Access to Justice in Detention Systems

Webinar
Date: 
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Time: 
1 - 2:00 pm PDT | 2 - 3:00 pm MDT | 3 - 4:00 pm CDT | 4 - 5:00 pm EDT

Co-sponsors

Description

The administration has engaged in a wide range of policies that are causing immigrant and refugee families to be separated. The detention of community members and the recent raid in Tennessee demonstrate how mothers and fathers are being separated from families as a result of interior enforcement operations. The administration also just announced a new policy to prosecute migrants and asylumseekers who cross the border without prior authorization, acknowledging the effect of this policy is to separate children from parents. Once immigrants and asylumseekers  are placed in detention centers across the country, there is much less publicly known and discussed about access to justice and conditions of confinement.

This policy call will look more deeply into the administration’s efforts to deny access to justice to immigrants in detention and a recent surprising policy reversal, as well as the long-term view of how denial of access to justice can impact conditions of confinement for immigrants separated from their children and families.

Moderator

Speakers

Registration

This program has passed.

Resources

Monthly Immigration Policy Calls

Held on the third Thursday of each month, GCIR's monthly policy calls provide an update on timely policy issues affecting immigrants and refugees—with an in-depth look at a topic that is particularly relevant or pressing for philanthropy. At critical junctures, we will also produce written policy updates and resource materials to deepen funders’ understanding of key developments and their implications for philanthropy. Please contact Aryah Somers Landsberger, director of programs, with your suggestions on topics, speakers, and resources to share. 

 

A special thanks to GCIR members and funders for their support in making this program possible.

 

Photo: Joe Brusky/CC