Federal Immigration Policy Comes to Main Street: How Local Governments Are Responding to a New Era

Thursday, March 15, 2018
1 - 2 pm PST | 2 - 3 pm MST | 3 - 4 pm CST | 4 - 5 pm EST



The first quarter of the year is not quite over, yet seemingly every week has brought major developments in the immigration policy sphere. This month alone, the Department of Justice sued California over three recently passed 'sanctuary' laws, USCIS removed 'nation of immigrants' from their mission, and the March 5 deadline for Dreamers passed without a bill. Meanwhile, administrative changes have shifted asylum interviewing and review processes, while the Supreme Court ruled that detained immigrants have no right to a bond hearing under a 1996 immigration law. This call will review the significant shifts of the past several months, with a focus on the tensions between federal immigration enforcement and local government responses. Join us to get up to speed on recent policy developments and learn how funders can respond.




Registration for this program is now closed.

Calls are open to GCIR members, other grantmaking institutions, philanthropic advisors, and members and staff of funder affinity groups and regional associations of grantmakers. (Participation is limited to organizations that share GCIR’s core values.)

Monthly Immigration Policy Calls

Held on the third Thursday of each month, GCIR's monthly policy calls provide an update on timely policy issues affecting immigrants and refugees—with an in-depth look at a topic that is particularly relevant or pressing for philanthropy. At critical junctures, we will also produce written policy updates and resource materials to deepen funders’ understanding of key developments and their implications for philanthropy. Please contact Aryah Somers Landsberger, director of programs, with your suggestions on topics, speakers, and resources to share. 


A special thanks to GCIR members and funders for their support in making this program possible.

Photo: Jeff Turner / Creative Commons