Monthly Immigration Policy Call: What Will the New Year Bring?

Thursday, January 18, 2018
1:00 - 2:00 p.m. PDT | 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. MDT | 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. CDT | 4:00 - 5:00 p.m. EDT



Our nation has just completed an incomparable year. A wave of restrictionist policies, championed by some and unthinkable to others, have disrupted families and communities, schools and businesses across the nation. In the wake of these changes, what will the New Year hold? Many administration pledges—a border wall, an end to family migration preferences, among others—remain unfunded and unfulfilled. This webinar will consider what is next on the agenda, including what lies ahead for Dreamers, this month’s decision to revoke temporary protected status for Salvadorans, the growing backlogs at USCIS, and other policies that are having wide-reaching impacts on our communities. Join us to begin 2018 with a discussion of what the future may bring.


  • Kerri Talbot, Policy Director, D.C. Immigration Hub
  • Avideh MoussavianSenior Policy Attorney, National Immigration Law Center


Registration is now closed.

Calls are open to GCIR members, other grantmaking institutions, philanthropic advisors, and members and staff of funder affinity groups and regional associations of grantmakers. (Participation is limited to organizations that share GCIR’s core values.)

Monthly Immigration Policy Calls

Held on the third Thursday of each month, GCIR's monthly policy calls provide an update on timely policy issues affecting immigrants and refugees—with an in-depth look at a topic that is particularly relevant or pressing for philanthropy. At critical junctures, we will also produce written policy updates and resource materials to deepen funders’ understanding of key developments and their implications for philanthropy. Please contact Aryah Somers Landsberger, director of programs, with your suggestions on topics, speakers, and resources to share. 


A special thanks to GCIR members and funders for their support in making this program possible.

Photo: Diego Cambiaso / Creative Commons