Dreams in Limbo: A Look at the Future of DACA, Young Immigrants, and How Funders Can Respond

Webinar
Date: 
Thursday, September 14, 2017
Time: 
1:00 - 2:30 p.m. PDT | 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. MDT | 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. CDT | 4:00 - 5:30 p.m. EDT

Note: Due to a conflict with a religious holiday, this call has been moved to the second Thursday in September (9/14). Subsequent calls will revert the customary third Thursday time slot.

Co-sponsors

If your grantmaker network is interested in co-sponsoring our Monthly Immigration Policy Calls, please contact Caleb Beaudoin.

Description

The Trump administration announced on September 5, that the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program will be terminated in March 2018, throwing the futures of nearly 800,000 immigrants into uncertainty. In its five years as policy, DACA allowed DACAmented immigrants to live free from the threat of deportation, step up as leaders and members of their communities, and pursue the American Dream. How are DACAmented immigrants, as well as their supporters and allies, responding to this policy setback? What legislative options and trade-offs are being contemplated? What immediate and long-term needs and strategies should philanthropy prioritize? Join us for this timely briefing.

Speakers

Registration

Registration for this program is now closed.

Calls are open to GCIR members, other grantmaking institutions, philanthropic advisors, and members and staff of funder affinity groups and regional associations of grantmakers. (Participation is limited to organizations that share GCIR’s core values.)

Resources

Resource Portals & Tools

Monthly Immigration Policy Calls

As immigration policy becomes increasingly challenging and dynamic, GCIR is pleased to assume responsibility for the monthly policy calls that Geri Mannion of the Carnegie Corporation of New York has organized for the past few years. Held on the third Thursday of every month, these calls provide an update on timely policy issues affecting immigrants and refugees—with an in-depth look at a topic that is particularly relevant or pressing for philanthropy. At critical junctures, we will also produce written policy updates and resource materials to deepen funders’ understanding of key developments and their implications for philanthropy. Please contact Aryah Somers Landsberger, director of programs, with your suggestions on topics, speakers, and resources to share. 

 

A special thanks to GCIR members and funders for their support in making this program possible.

Photo: Justin Valas / Creative Commons