What Funders Need to Know About "Public Charge:" An Analysis of the Published Rule and How Funders Can Take Action

Webinar
Date: 
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Time: 
1 - 2 pm PDT | 2 - 3 pm MDT | 3 - 4 pm CDT | 4 - 5 pm EDT

Description

The proposed “public charge” rule introduced by the Trump administration would be the most radical change to our nation’s immigration policy in decades. Although targeting immigrants, the rule would undermine philanthropic efforts to reduce poverty, improve health and well-being, and expand opportunities for low-income children and families.
 
The proposal would give preference to wealthy and privileged green-card applicants over those with low incomes and those who use certain basic government supports—from medical care to food and housing assistance—even to weather hard times. This risk has already led many immigrants to disenroll themselves and their children from programs for which they qualify. If this rule were enacted, millions more would follow—whether or not the change impacts them. The resulting stress on local nonprofits—combined with ripple effects on community health, well-being, and prosperity—will be enormous. Disparities and inequities that philanthropy seeks to ameliorate would be greatly amplified. 
 
Join this webinar to understand the proposed rule and its impacts on immigrant families and our broader society. Learn about immediate and long-term policy advocacy strategies. And discuss ways that funders, including private foundations, can engage and take action.

Speakers

  • Marielena Hincapié, Executive Director, National Immigration Law Center (NILC)
  • Olivia Golden, Executive Director, Center for Law and Social Policy (CLASP)
  • Local Service Provider, TBD

Moderator

  • Felicia Escobar, Director of Immigration, The Beacon Fund

Registration

Registration for this program is now closed.

Monthly Immigration Policy Calls

Held on the third Thursday of each month, GCIR's monthly policy calls provide an update on timely policy issues affecting immigrants and refugees—with an in-depth look at a topic that is particularly relevant or pressing for philanthropy. At critical junctures, we will also produce written policy updates and resource materials to deepen funders’ understanding of key developments and their implications for philanthropy. Please contact Felecia Bartow, senior advisor, with your suggestions on topics, speakers, and resources to share. 

A special thanks to GCIR members and funders for their support in making this program possible.

 

Photo: World Bank Photo Collection / Creative Commons