Post-Election Policy Outlook for Immigrants and Refugees

Webinar
Date: 
Monday, November 21, 2016
Time: 
10:00 - 11:30 a.m. PST | 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. MST | 12:00 - 1:30 p.m. CST | 1:00 - 2:30 p.m. EDT

Resources:

Please contact Aryah Somers Landsberger for a copy of the presentation.

We also invite you to visit our post-election resource page for additional materials.

Description:

The 2016 presidential campaign made visible the deep and painful divisions in our nation, and the election outcome has left many immigrants and refugees—and second- and third-generation U.S. citizens—living in uncertainty and fear. Hate-based incidents from bullying to violence are on the rise, and President-elect Donald Trump has pledged to deport millions of unauthorized immigrants, cancel Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), suspend refugee resettlement from “terror-prone” countries, and block remittances as part of his border wall plan. These policies, several of which are planned for the first 100 days in office, could have a devastating impact on our economy, tear apart families, and radically reshape our communities as well as America’s position in the world.

This webinar will ground funders in the immediate concerns facing immigrant and refugee communities; provide early analyses of the policy and political landscape including the new Congress; and identify what funders what can do now to support immigrants and refugees and the organizations that serve them. With conditions on the ground changing rapidly and details on the policy front still emerging, this is the first of many webinars that GCIR and our partners will organize to keep funders informed of critical developments.

Learn more about the situation on our post-election resource page.

Featured Speakers:

Co-Sponsors:

A special thanks to GCIR members and funders for their support in making this programming possible.
 

Photo credit: Shared by Flickr user -lucam- under a Creative Commons license.