Philanthropy, Refugees, and the Global Humanitarian Crisis Webinar Series: How U.S. Funders Can Respond to the Current Global Refugee Crisis

Webinar
Date: 
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Time: 
1:00 - 2:30 p.m. PDT | 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. CDT | 4:00 - 5:30 p.m. EDT

Wars and violence in Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, Central America, and elsewhere across the globe have driven a record-high 60 million people from their homes. Half of these refugees and internally displaced persons (IDPs) are children. Last summer, unaccompanied children fled Central America for safety in the U.S. This summer, hundreds of thousands of refugees are seeking refuge in Europe. The tragedies borne of their desperation—from toddlers washed ashore to trucks full of corpses—have focused the world’s attention on this long-developing global crisis of unprecedented scale.

Join this webinar to learn how philanthropy can respond—in the U.S. and internationally—to address the needs of the millions of men, women, and children who have been forced from their homes.

Experts in the field will help you understand:

  • Complex root causes that have forced refugees and IDPs from their homes
  • Current conditions in the countries of origin and of first asylum
  • Relevant legal and policy frameworks
  • The direct and indirect impacts of this crisis on the United States
  • What philanthropy is doing and what more can be done to respond—in the United States, in Europe, and in countries of origin to address this humanitarian emergency.

Speakers:

This webinar will be the first in a series of briefings on Philanthropy, Refugees, and the Global Humanitarian Crisis. Future webinars in the series will address U.S. refugee resettlement policy, integration challenges, and potential backlash in countries of resettlement.

Current Co-Sponsors:

Resource Page:

For more information on this topic, please visit our resource page.