Report in Focus: Revving up the Deportation Machinery: Enforcement and Pushback under Trump

Webinar
Date: 
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Time: 
1 - 2:15 pm PDT | 2 - 3:15 pm MDT | 3 - 4:15 pm CDT | 4 - 5:15 pm EDT

Co-sponsors

Description

In the first eight months of the Trump administration, arrests and deportations of immigrants rose 40 percent versus the year before. The new administration’s decision to halt prioritization of certain immigrants for enforcement, and instead treating all unauthorized or otherwise deportable individuals as candidates for removal, has fueled this surge.

Yet it may not last. A new report from Migration Policy Institute finds it is “unlikely” the current level of removals will continue. Growing opposition—in the form of welcoming or sanctuary policies—from state and local governments, with whom 70 to 85 percent of deportation cases have originated in peak enforcement years, has dramatically reduced the number of immigrants caught up in the removal process. In addition to state and city policies, community efforts such as “know-your-rights” trainings and expanded legal representation for those in removal proceedings have also narrowed the deportation pipeline.

Learn more about these trends during this call, which will feature two authors of Migration Policy Institute’s report, Revving Up the Deportation Machinery: Enforcement under Trump and the Pushbackbased on their study of 15 localities around the country, including ICE field offices in Atlanta; Arlington, VA; Chicago; Houston; Los Angeles; New Orleans; and New York.

Speakers

Moderator

Registration

Please register by COB Wednesday, June 20, 2018.

Calls are open to GCIR members, other grantmaking institutions, philanthropic advisors, and members and staff of philanthropic support organizations. (Participation is limited to organizations that share GCIR’s core values.)

Resources

Monthly Immigration Policy Calls

Held on the third Thursday of each month, GCIR's monthly policy calls provide an update on timely policy issues affecting immigrants and refugees—with an in-depth look at a topic that is particularly relevant or pressing for philanthropy. At critical junctures, we will also produce written policy updates and resource materials to deepen funders’ understanding of key developments and their implications for philanthropy. Please contact Aryah Somers Landsberger, director of programs, with your suggestions on topics, speakers, and resources to share. 

A special thanks to GCIR members and funders for their support in making this program possible.