GCIR Announces New Board Members and Officers

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

SEBASTOPOL, CA — The membership of Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees (GCIR) elected to its board of directors Kalia Abiade, director of programs at the Pillars Fund; Marco Antonio Quiroga, program director at the Contigo Fund, and Vivian Tseng, senior vice president, programs, of the William T. Grant Foundation. In addition, the GCIR membership re-elected Betty Balli Torres, executive director of the Texas Access to Justice Foundation; Amanda Cloud, president and CEO of The Simmons Foundation; Efrain Escobedo, vice president, education and immigration, at the California Community Foundation; Carlos Martinez, executive director of the Latino Community Foundation of Colorado; and Laura Speer, associate director, policy reform and advocac, at The Annie E. Casey Foundation.

Grace Hou, president of the Woods Fund Chicago, was elected to a two-year term as co-chair of the board. She joins James Gore, senior program officer at the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation, who will serve another year as co-chair. Ted Wang, U.S. program director, at Unbound Philanthropy, recently completed a two-year term as co-chair. 

Efrain Escobedo was re-elected to a one-year term as secretary, and Dina Merrell, associate director of The Chicago Bar Foundation, was elected to a two-year term as treasurer. 

Leslie Dorosin, co-executive director of The Grove Foundation, rotated off the board after completing six years of service, including four years as treasurer.

Founded in 1990, GCIR works with more than 130 member foundations and the broader philanthropic community to inform, connect, and catalyze philanthropy to address pressing issues facing immigrants and refugees and the communities in which they live and work. GCIR’s thought leadership and expertise position philanthropy to adapt to demographic trends, respond to policy developments, engage with cross-sector partners, and support timely and innovative efforts to advance equity, inclusion, and justice for immigrants, refugees, and asylum seekers.

CONTACT:       Dianna Truong, Development and Communications Director
PHONE:           650-644-6798
EMAIL:             [email protected]